Blending Revenge,Sexuality,Mystery, Self-Awareness and Love by Arthur Cola

The Piazza Campidoglio in Rome where the climatic scene of the novel:
“The Brooch” takes place.

“Blending Revenge, Sexuality, Mystery,
Self-Awareness and Love”
By Arthur Cola

The other day I announced on Facebook that my new novel, The Brooch, was ready to be sent to the publisher. In fact I had just received the Copyright certificate. The book’s illustrator, John Colaianni, has completed the cover design and with the manuscript being completed we are ready to go.

Next week I begin a number of summer to fall events at which I will be presenting my books and explaining how they came to be written. The season begins with my participation in Authors Day at the Italian American Cultural Center called Casa Italia in Stone Park, IL just outside of Chicago. At that event on Sat., June 16 from 10 a.m. to
2 p.m. people will be able to ask me questions about my books and though the new one won’t be in book form as yet, its Kindle version may be. By the time Festa Italiana in Milwaukee takes place (July 19-22) The Brooch should be ready in book form. So do drop by Festival Park on the Lakefront.

If you’re in the Ohio area, come on by Irish Fest (Aug.4-6) in Dublin, OH. My presentation will focus on the Irish themed novels (Papa and the Leprechaun King and The Shamrock Crown) but my novels The Stone Cutter Genius and The Brooch will also be there and you may ask me about them as well.

In October (Columbus Day Weekend) I’ll be appearing at Festa Italiana in Washington, D.C. and later that month I’ll be presenting at the American Italian Historical Association Conference in New York. I’ll talk about those events later.

Having presented that time line let me now tell you a little about my new book,
The Brooch by taking some of the issues and emotions which fill its pages.

In any literary work the central characters will face challenges, address issues and exhibit emotions. In my story these characters are six sons who face a mystery needing solving which stretches back to Renaissance Italy. As they seek to solve that mystery, one of them is also planning to take revenge on the others so that the solution to that mystery may never be reached. These six sons range in age from 16 – 30 and thus are dealing with emotions and issues which are quite varied. Two of them are brothers who seek to make their parents proud. The elder of the two is a “Pater Pan” type of person who enjoys life and won’t grow up. The younger one wants to come out of his brother’s shadow and be his own man. A third is an older teen who has gone out on his own to prove that being gay does not mean that he cannot be a man. The youngest son is a sheltered guy who comes to grips with issues which he has denied or avoided. Another son is a newlywed who is also a peer of the realm in Britain and also runs a pub in Wales. The sixth is a son who seeks to avenge his father and thwart the other five from ever solving the mystery and proving the power of love.

Thus, over the next six blog entries I shall begin a series of glimpses into those characters by first explaining that emotion which impacts their lives, “Love.” Love comes to us in many ways. In my story of “The Brooch,” we see six sons experiencing a collision of love, history, faith and mystery which has its roots in Renaissance Italy and comes to affect their lives in touching, violent, intriguing, inspiring, funny, sexual, vengeful, redemptive and unselfish ways.

(Watch for the publication of “The Brooch” on amazon.com/Kindle and through http://www.feedaread.com/arthurcola. Check out Arthur Cola’s other books at amazon.com).

About arthurcola

I am the author of seven fiction books based on Celtic and Italian legends, Renaissance mysteries and history. They are: Journey of Three Pure Hearts and its sequel Pure and Tarnished Hearts, Stolen Christmas,The Brooch,The Stone Cutter Genius, The Shamrock Crown (Legend of Excalibur) and Papa and the Leprechaun King. My children's Christmas themed book is titled: Papa and the Gingerbread man. I have two screenplay versions on amazonstudios.com (The Shamrock Crown and The Leprechaun King) and have recently completed screenplay versions for my other novels. I served in the field of education for many years before embarking on a writing career. I am married to Donna and we have five children. web site: www.legendarytalesofarthurcola.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

