The Welsh Lad by Arthur Cola

The Welsh Lad by Arthur Cola

Image  

Today we begin the presentation of the six sons around whom the tale of my soon to be published novel: The Brooch is formed.

 First I would like to present to you the youngest of the six sons. Reginald Knight, or “Reg” as he prefers to be called. He is an impressionable lad from the City of St. David in Wales. The almost 17 year old is a late bloomer, as he describes himself, who is a typical teen experiencing his sexuality developing. He says that because of movies, TV shows and sex education classes that he cannot help but attach sexual meanings to events in his life. In a segment of the scene below he has just been captured by the constabulary of St. David’s City for having robbed the estate home of the 8th Earl of Ramsey. “Reg” is trying to explain the circumstances of why he is dressed in tight fitting spandex clothing when he was captured running across the Ramsey estate lawn. He is speaking to the son of the Earl (Viscount Alun Ramsey), a police detective (Charles Sterling) and the elderly Chief Steward of the household (Horace Pendergast).

 

Excerpt from the novel, The Brooch. Chapter 3: The Culprit

 

Reg sat straight up now. The clink of the cuffs, attaching his two wrists to the wooden arms of the chair, alarmed Horace. The elder gentleman knelt down and rubbed the lad’s wrists…

 “Now Reg tell the nice detective what happened,” Horace directed.

 “Yes sir, that I will,” began Reg as he rubbed the bruised skin around his wrists. “Well there I was standing in front of the Viscount’s pub on Goat Street when this older man, maybe around thirty years old he was, came up to me. He was a gentleman from his looks, wearing a tweed suit, and carrying a gold and oak walking stick as well as a travel bag. You know like a duffle bag, the kind I use to carry my school physical education uniform, and you know special items guys have to use in that class.”…

 “Well this refined gentleman came right up to me. I was leaning on the post, as I said, so the light clearly showed him that I had red hair if you know what I mean. Well he says to me, ‘Young man would you like to earn twenty pounds sterling this night?’ Well you can well imagine what I thought…you know an older guy willing to pay me for services rendered. Mi mom warned me of such blokes who liked red haired lads.”

“Well I gave him that look, the kind that says, ‘who the hell…’ oh excuse me. I mean ‘what do you want of me’ type of look. Then I stood very tall and pulled up my pants so that…” Reg then demonstrated what he had done under the lamp post…

“Well anyway, the old guy didn’t look there at all, so I knew that I was not being propositioned as it were. You know many think I’m a good looker, even the guys. They think I’m a chick magnet.”…

 “Now wouldn’t you just know that he wanted me to change my clothes. ‘Oh God,’ I thought. ‘He does want a romp with me!’ Well like I said the girls tell me I’m not bad to look at, so I thought if that’s all he wanted then maybe it’s worth twenty pounds. I mean he could see me change clothes in the gym for free. So I said, ‘Sure, I could do that but I’m not stupid. I need to know exactly what you mean and where this would take place.’ And that’s when I did it?”

 

(Find out more about “Reg” and his struggles with his sexuality and his call to come to the aide of four of the other sons as they attempt to solve the mystery of The Brooch, a novel soon to be released on Kindle and through www.feedaread.com). The photo is that of the Pantheon in Rome. Here is where Reg must use his courage and wit to face the villains.

 

 

 

 

 

About arthurcola

I am the author of seven fiction books based on Celtic and Italian legends, Renaissance mysteries and history. They are: Journey of Three Pure Hearts and its sequel Pure and Tarnished Hearts, Stolen Christmas,The Brooch,The Stone Cutter Genius, The Shamrock Crown (Legend of Excalibur) and Papa and the Leprechaun King. My children's Christmas themed book is titled: Papa and the Gingerbread man. I have two screenplay versions on amazonstudios.com (The Shamrock Crown and The Leprechaun King) and have recently completed screenplay versions for my other novels. I served in the field of education for many years before embarking on a writing career. I am married to Donna and we have five children. web site: www.legendarytalesofarthurcola.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

