Meet Wisconsin Author, Arthur Cola

The book cover of “The Shamrock Crown” by Arthur Cola

The Cover of “The Stone Cutter Genius” by Arthur Cola

Meet Wisconsin Author Arthur Cola

Today I was asked to create an article for a local print media source. After I was done, I thought that maybe it’s time to reintroduce myself on my blog for any new readers who have joined us. So here it is with appropriate language changes.

On any given day, if you’re in my little city, I might be strolling down my street named Robins Run. You might just bump into one of Burlington’s local authors who Chicago claims as a native son, me. I usually begin my daily walk, weather permitting, from home and end up at Napoli’s, McDonald’s, Wendy’s or Grater Tater for lunch on any given day. I tell people that it’s my time for reflection and development for my “legendary tales.” You could very well see me busily writing in a local restaurant whenever an inspiration illuminates me. Before my stories are formed on the computer, I write them in longhand; true an almost lost art. But it’s my way and I am a creature of habit. I suppose what’s unusual about all of this routine is that all of this activity began around 6 years ago when I retired after 35 years in education.

Since that time I have written a book for children. Papa and the Gingerbread Man is a Christmas themed story. It was created for my four grandchildren. Then the writing bug really crunched down on me. I began to write “legendary tales” as I calls them. Four major novels have resulted since that time when I began to write for older folks.

I call two of my novels as Family Friendly. They are:

Papa and the Leprechaun King: A tale of Wisconsin tourists in Ireland who save the Kingdom of the Wee Folk.

The Shamrock Crown: The Colonna Family of Burlington, WI embark on a quest. This takes them to Ireland and Britain as they search out the most ancient relics of King Arthur’s Camelot and end up bringing the Knights of the Round Table into the 21st Century.

The next two novels I classify as PG13. In fact one of them is currently under development to be promoted as a movie.

The Stone Cutter Genius: Professor Arthur Colonna and his two teen sons become embroiled in an adventure to find the legendary Ring of the Magi. It is said to possess supernatural powers. From Wisconsin to Chicago to Dublin to London to Italy the adventure will introduce you to the giant of the Renaissance, the artist Michelangelo. Amidst attempts to kidnap, threats to jail Arthur’s student and a discovery which can only be termed as supernatural they strive to solve a mystery and combat a cult which seeks to use the ring to control the very souls of young people.

The Brooch: This novel has just been published on amazon.com/Kindle and will be in paper form through a British Arts Council (www.feadaread.com) grant.

Six sons come to grips with a collision of history and love which has its roots in Renaissance Italy. Coping with their own sexuality while trying to solve a five hundred year old mystery they struggle to understand the power of love which takes them from Britain to Italy. For a thief must be found, a plot to destroy the very essence of love as symbolized in Michelangelo’s Brooch must be foiled, a theory and message which has waited five hundred years to be rediscovered must be presented.

Here is a story of love, self-awareness, developing sexuality, struggle and revenge as experienced through the lives of six sons. John, who fights tooth and nail not to grow up until love and history collide. Rich depends on his brother while also struggling to emerge as his own man. Ryan, who yearns to just be one of the guys despite being gay. Reg, who is an impressionable lad from rural Wales struggling with admitting who he is as it’s not what he’s been taught as being normal. Roberto, who seeks only to revenge his father even if it means destroying a family and himself. Alun discovers that his legacy as a Peer of the Realm is worthy of preservation through the love of his wife.

My screenplay, “Ring of the Magi,” is based on his novel “The Stone Cutter Genius.” It is currently under development as we seek local actors to portray its characters in a “Table Read” which will be open to the public. Such an event has actors reading from the script on stage.

(Find the books by Arthur Cola at http://www.amazon.com/kindle and http://www.feedaread.com by searching for his name and book title. Learn more about his literary efforts on his Blog: arthurcolalegendarytales.wordpress.com)

About arthurcola

I am the author of seven fiction books based on Celtic and Italian legends, Renaissance mysteries and history. They are: Journey of Three Pure Hearts and its sequel Pure and Tarnished Hearts, Stolen Christmas,The Brooch,The Stone Cutter Genius, The Shamrock Crown (Legend of Excalibur) and Papa and the Leprechaun King. My children's Christmas themed book is titled: Papa and the Gingerbread man. I have two screenplay versions on amazonstudios.com (The Shamrock Crown and The Leprechaun King) and have recently completed screenplay versions for my other novels. I served in the field of education for many years before embarking on a writing career. I am married to Donna and we have five children. web site: www.legendarytalesofarthurcola.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

