From Acorn to Baby Oak by Arthur Cola

Image

A couple of fall seasons ago I was visiting Concord MA as part of an Irish Fest book promotion. Being who I am it was natural to search out historical sights which aren’t quite a well known as others. I ended up on Author’s Ridge in the Sleepy Hollow Cemetary. There some of our most famous American authors are buried. As I was standing amongst the graves of Nathaniel Hawthrone, Ralph Waldo Emerson and Thoreau and across from Louisa May Alcott an acorn fell from one of the huge Oak trees surrounding the gravesites. It hit my head. I picked it up and pocketed it. My grandsons helped me to plant it in a flower pot in our living room. The local nursery guy told me to get it outside and protect it, for it was a baby Oak Tree that had sprouted from that acorn. Well today I checked it out while watering it. It has taken on its fall colors and I knew that soon I will have to cover it with a rose bush cone. After all it’s still a baby Oak tree. I may not be around to see it become the mighty Oak that it is destined to be but it will have had its nurturing years in my backyard. So here for you to enjoy, is the Baby Oak tree from the spiritual resting place of early American Authors on Author’s Ridge. Notice that despite its size, the Little Oak has full size leaves as on a fullly grown tree. How cool is that? For this Chicago city boy, it’s quite the accomplishment.

It’s Fall time in Wisconsin where we now live. And here’s a taste of it from Fall Fest at State Fair Park in Milwaukee with our youngest daughter Kathleen, the older daughter Jana, her husband Chris and the boys,Connor and Riley.Image

Image

 

Image

About arthurcola

I am the author of seven fiction books based on Celtic and Italian legends, Renaissance mysteries and history. They are: Journey of Three Pure Hearts and its sequel Pure and Tarnished Hearts, Stolen Christmas,The Brooch,The Stone Cutter Genius, The Shamrock Crown (Legend of Excalibur) and Papa and the Leprechaun King. My children's Christmas themed book is titled: Papa and the Gingerbread man. I have two screenplay versions on amazonstudios.com (The Shamrock Crown and The Leprechaun King) and have recently completed screenplay versions for my other novels. I served in the field of education for many years before embarking on a writing career. I am married to Donna and we have five children. web site: www.legendarytalesofarthurcola.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

